Taking the blog back to its roots!

I began http://www.fivekidsandcounting.wordpress.com when I found myself home educating two of my five children for reasons well documented on the blog. I got a little immersed in the blogging world and sidetracked to work on a political blog at http://www.mammapolitico.wordpress.com hence the temporary abandonment of fivekidscounting.Like many blogging parents blogging began to take over my evenings so I have been having a break over Christmas and a rethink. SO folks this blog is going back to it’s roots with its focus on books, digital resources/apps and e-learning and great teaching ideas for home education.
I have only one child in home education now, my six year old daughter – my son started at a new school in September and is loving every minute. In our house there is not a one size fits all approach to education – we make the education fit the child at that particular stage of their life. For our daughter we got through the doors of a lovely small primary school but realised she was happy and thriving learning at home so she continues to learn in a semi structured way. Her lightbulb moment with reading has finally happened and my pride was unbounded when she read 24 pages of The Cat in the Hat Comes Back. Now we are immersing ourselves in books books and more books – for a child who hated reading and insisted that she couldn’t and wouldn’t ever be able to read it is a wonderful achievement. We’ve had a great start to our home ed term and I look forward to documenting our learning and sharing resources as the weeks go on.

20120110-225604.jpg

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Taking the blog back to its roots!

  1. yes i agree that not every child suits school, i too have a child who loves school, has never missed a day, and a child who never liked school from day one, and is happier in the homeschooled way,

  2. Oooh don’t know if u want to link to my new blog post. I think a lot of people misunderstand homeschooling – be nice to set them right.

Leave a Reply

