Harry Potter has inspired my reluctant reader!

My reluctant reader has been sparked into life via The Cat in the Hat and Harry Potter. The moment a child starts to read independantly is one which is rarely witnessed by parents but this week I have been thrilled to the bone as my six year old dd has found her reading mojo!
She has come from the stance of “I hate reading and I can’t do it ” to reading an The Cat in the Hat from cover to cover. OK – it took nearly 45 mins but it was amazing. We have now leapt to reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – as this will take a very long time with every word sounded out (he! He! ) I have bought the dvd for some light relief !
This reading development has been the result of no specific teaching strategy except loads of games of I Spy – proof to me, (a doubting Thomas as an ex-teacher) that informal learning even autonomous learning – immersion in life if you like – really does work !

20120119-222528.jpg

1 Comment

Filed under education

One response to “Harry Potter has inspired my reluctant reader!

  1. indreamworld

    Dr Seuss books are GREAT for getting the most reluctant reader to immerse themselves in books! 🙂
    In our household, we love the Cat In The Hat, The Cat in The Hat comes back, Green Eggs and Ham and Wacky Wednesday (to name but a few.)
    Must be all the rhyming that does it! 🙂

Leave a comment